Division 1 Mariners Men’s Team Schedule Released

The Vancouver Island Soccer League (VISL) is an amateur adult league with six competitive divisions. It features promotion and relegation, with the strongest teams in each division moving up to a higher division each year, replacing the lowest teams in those divisions. Teams new to the League start in Division 3, which is where the Mid-Isle Mariners Men’s team began their quest two seasons ago. That year Bill Merriman’s team went undefeated in the League and was promoted to Division 2.

Last season, the team excelled again and this season has been promoted to Division 1, the highest level of amateur soccer on Vancouver Island. They will play their home games at Forrest Field in Ladysmith on Saturday afternoons and evenings.

Mid-Isle Division 1 Men’s Team Home Schedule, 2018-19:

  • Saturday, September 15
  • Saturday, September 29
  • Saturday, October 13
  • Saturday, October 27
  • Saturday, November 10
  • Saturday, November 24
  • Saturday, December 8
  • Saturday, January 26

Under-21 Men’s Team Ready for the Season

The Under-21 Mid-Isle Mariners men’s team also plays in the VISL. Players in this division must be 20 years of age or younger. Our U21 Mariners have had a very successful history in the VISL, winning League and Cup trophies in several seasons since the team was founded in 2012. Many past players have gone on to successful college and professional careers. The U21s play their home games at Forrest Field on Sunday evenings.

U21 Men’s Team Home Schedule, 2018-19:

  • Sunday, September 16
  • Sunday, September 23
  • Sunday, October 7
  • Sunday, November 4
  • Sunday, November 18
  • Sunday, November 25
  • Sunday, December 2
  • Sunday, January 20